Posted by: Anita Montgomery | January 27, 2011

Unexpected!

Something unexpected happened this morning, something I was not prepared for!  So I felt like God said, post a quick blog and honor me. So here I am!

Maybe we can spend some time reflecting and learn from my experience together. First, I over reacted! I didn’t honor God with this news. I needed to pray and ask Him to help me digest this news first. I simply wasn’t ready to think about one more change, an indirect one, yet it would affect me. In reality it just might be an amazing event, but I still was not prepared to hear about it. Then I remembered Proverbs 3: 5-6, a scripture I often share with others. His word does not return void. “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding, in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths. ”

What did I do next? 1) confessed to God my over reaction  2) prayed for a spirit of understanding   3) shared with my husband  4) shared with a trusted friend so that she might pray too. Whew, I felt a bit better after doing all 4 steps. Now I am putting it in God’s hands on behalf of those, that will be more directly affected, than me! After all, it wasn’t about me, it is about them and God’s will for their lives.

Through the unexpected, I am expecting God to do great things! I have no doubt He will do just that!

What have a learned today, not to immediately over react! I know better, but didn’t do better! So glad God is a God of second chances, over and over again!

I pray you might learn along  with me the way God desires us to walk through “unexpected” news. I am trusting the Lord with all my heart, not leaning on my own understanding, acknowledging Him and letting Him straighten up my path this very day! Thanking Him as He does!

Do any of you need an “unexpected path” straightened? I sure did!

From my heart,

~Anita~

Leave a Reply

Categories

