Posted by: Anita Montgomery | April 14, 2012

A Dart To My Heart!

Okay so the last thing I had planned to do today was blog, but the verse I am about to share brought me to tears, seriously …

Matthew 25:35-40, “For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’ Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’ And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.'” (ESV)

After reading this I stopped and asked myself, did I apply this to my own life this week, did I take time to look for someone that was hungry, thirsty or needed clothes, let alone invite them in!?! Have I visited anyone sick or in prison recently … do I really need to answer that, yes I do, the answer is NO!

Sadly, the only thing that comes close to it, is when I was in a fast food place and a young man needed to pay for his food, he didn’t have enough money and looked at me and said, can you give me 2 pennies, of course I gave him the 2 pennies, but talk about feeling convicted today … yessirree … this was “A Dart To My Heart”! Ouch! No a bandaid will not cover up this wound, only the blood of Jesus, that is ,as I offer it to others by sharing HIS good news. Shame on me!

Okay, so it’s not over yet, the area we were in for fast food, also happened to have what appeared to be 2 homeless men hanging around, both in different places, not judging here by any means, but just that gut feeling I had in my heart. What did I do, oh nothing, except get back in the car and share it with my husband. Yep, conviction has set in … I want to take that dart out of my heart.

What am I going to do you ask … I plan to be more sensitive and look for opportunities to apply His word, of course, with caution, especially in the area we live … very metropolitan. However, I know God will make a way if I ask HIM, that’s just what I am going to do, how bout you?

Have you had any darts in your heart lately?

I’m ready to look for a dart picture right now, my visual reminder to apply His word more regularly!

Off I go …

~Anita~

Leave a Reply

Categories

