Posted by: Anita Montgomery | May 10, 2012

Honor Your Parents!

Mother’s Day is almost upon us, that may be why God has laid the scripture below on my heart today, so let me jump in and ask, what are you doing to honor your Mother on this special day? Have you taken time to ponder this thought? If not, please do … you will not regret it!

“Children, obey your parents in the Lord: for this is right. Honour thy father and mother; which is the first commandment with promise; That it may be well with thee, and thou mayest live long on the earth.” Eph. 6:2-4 KJV

We are never too old to honor our parents, God showed me that when we moved back to South Florida from Illinois, 5 years ago. My mother asked if we could possibly help her care for my Dad, she was needing some support at that time. We gathered our adult children together, had a family meeting, some prayer time and the Lord led us to make that move. One, we never have regretted.

My husband was pastoring a church at that time, we had not even thought about ending that season in our lives so soon, but yet God had another plan. In obedience we followed it. We honored a Mother’s request.

As God would have it, my Mom is now celebrating her 2nd Mother’s Day in heaven, my husband’s Mother is celebrating her’s in heaven too. We sat by her bed years ago, as she made her sweet journey to Jesus, the day before Mother’s day. I recall saying to her repeatedly, “Granny it’s okay, just think you will get to celebrate Mother’s Day with Jesus”. In the next hours, he ever so gently took her home. The best Mother’s Day celebration of all for her.

I know it is different for us all, even relationships with Mothers, I understand that, and no matter where you are with your Mother, just know I will be praying for you. If there is a way you can honor her, do so, if not … pray for her and God’s will in her life and yours as an adult child too. We do not get 2nd chances, that is until we get to heaven, and God reunites us all for one big celebration!

Til’ then, let’s each do what we can do here on earth and bring honor to our parents, in God’s way and in His time. May he get the glory in all we do!

If you look at the last part of that verse … that it may be well with thee, and thou mayest live long on the earth.

I pray it is well for each of us, including myself and I may live long on the earth!

Honor is the key word. I plan to honor other earthly Mothers this year and blow kisses to my own Mom in heaven.

May God bless you in what ever way, you plan to bring honor too!

~Anita~

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

