Posted by: Anita Montgomery | May 21, 2012

Feeling So Humbled!

When is the last time God humbled you? Today I was totally caught by surprise and so very humbled. I received a card of thanks with a monetary gift enclosed, that truly brought me to my knees and for the simplest of reasons.

Some time back I felt led to begin making cute little hair items and pins, rosettes, flowers and bows. First I made some for a couple of Christian retreats, about 50 for each one. I asked the Lord to direct my hands as I prayed and created, I loved doing it for Him! One thing led to another as I found myself creating little business cards, placing them in special little bags, adding a ribbon touch and praying over each one. I was blessed to be a blessing.

Later, I began creating some for the little girls at our church and of course, our 3 precious little granddaughters too. At one point, yes, I considered making them for profit and even joined an online group to get the word out there. But I never went any further with it, didn’t even list my product. I said to the Lord if you want to make this happen in your time, you will, and left that thought at His altar as I kept twisting that special fabric I purchased and prayed with each twist. I often said to the Lord, if this is of you, to bless me back financially and use to replace what I purchase, or even in another way, then God you show me. Well, I think today was that day!

Yet, I type with tears, as the  person that blessed me did so, because she had asked me to make 20 of my rosettes for her pre-school students to give to their Mommies for Mother’s Day. I had no thought of receiving anything in return, but rather just a blessing from our Lord. Then today happened, what can I say … except scripture says it the best, remember all I wanted to do was bless:

“In everything I did, I showed you that by this kind of hard work we must help the weak, remembering the words the Lord Jesus himself said: ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.” Acts 20:35

Yes, I was blessed to give.

I said to my husband, “how can I keep this” he replied, that it was the right thing to do. He said how would you feel if you gave someone something and they wanted to give it back. Then talked to me about the widows mite, as this person basically gave to me out of the little she has. As you can see, I am not good at receiving, but I am good at trusting in God’s promises, so I am praying this word over her for a season:

“Do not be deceived, God is not mocked; for what­ever a man sows, this he will also reap.” Galatians 6:7

Praying a time of reaping for her … God so knows the pureness of her heart!

I’ll end in this way … my little business card reads Heartfelt Creations by Anita, if you look at the main title of my blog, it is Heartfelt Thoughts As He Leads. He is the one that guides my hands, my heart and my blog.

Again I ask, when was the last time you were humbled? Feel free to leave a comment and share it if you would like.

Closing with humility,

~Anita~

Leave a Reply

Categories

