Posted by: Anita Montgomery | August 28, 2013

Mentoring …

This just came to my heart this morning in my quiet time, feeling led to blog it now. What I am about to share, I share humbly.  I love mentoring young women. However through the years I have learned I must now set some boundaries, boundary setting is very hard for me, but I am in a big learning mode to do so. For that I am grateful, God never stops teaching us, thank goodness!

Yesterday I had the opportunity to spend a little time with a 15 year old, that time we had together so touched my heart. I wouldn’t trade those moments for anything. God began to open a new door between the two of us, a door I realized I so loved when both my husband and I spent a lot of time with the youth in our church. Time that was very treasured and memories that will linger always, most special ones.

I also have another married women I am presently mentoring, I am honored to see the fruit that is already being borne through this season of mentoring her. God is truly at work in her life and she is being most obedient to follow his lead, for that I so praise him.

Why am I sharing this? I am doing so for a couple of reasons, one is very scriptural … “Likewise, teach the older women to be reverent in the way they live, not to be slanderers or addicted to much wine, but to teach what is good. Then they can urge the younger women to love their husbands and children”. Titus 2:3-4

The other reason is I believe some of us are to be taking mentoring more seriously than we do. I always find when I invest in others, I am the one that gets the blessing. We reap what we sow, that’s just a bonus God gives us. If he gives us the ability to mentor and wires us to do so, then we must take it seriously and follow through. Yesterday was one more reminder to me, for that I am so grateful.

Let me close with this, who are you mentoring and if not why not? In today’s society there are so many young women that don’t know the truth from God’s word, or how they are to live, as we know the world usually does not model that unless we are plugged into a church or are being raised by a Christian family, parent or parents. With my experience yesterday, I know this is one more door God has opened for me, I am praying for just how this might look. I am giving God thanks for this opportunity too, and how about you? What doors is he opening, they may not be mentoring ones, but I have no doubt there is one or more just for you. Ask God just what one it is, you will be ever so blessed as you do!

Off here to write a little note of follow up to this special 15 year old, one more way to invest and one more way to reconnect our younger generation with snail mail and not just technology, I still love mailbox smiles! She might enjoy one too!

Bless you as you mentor away, or await that special door to open just for you, have a great day as you do!

~Anita

Leave a Reply

Categories

