Posted by: Anita Montgomery | October 6, 2013

Seasons of Friendship

In these past weeks the Lord has had me on an amazing friendship journey, being an only child friends have always been very important to me. They still are, but now in a different way.

Let me take you back to my high school days, although I had many female friends, I always seemed to feel caught in the middle of friendships and did not like dealing with the pettiness. So guess what, I had a guy friend, no not in the form of a boyfriend, but truly a guy friend. In fact he was a year ahead of me in high school To this day we still have the cukkoo clock he gave us for a wedding present, now 46 years ago.

With that said as time ticks away, seasons of friends do too. I can’t begin to tell you all of the experiences I have had along the journey called “friendship”, some you would not even believe, tough parts and happy parts too. Many of those parts have brought me to where I am today, for that I am most grateful.

Presently I am in a totally new season which brings me back to the past few weeks while we have been traveling. As we have, I have connected with friends that have been in my life for 30+ years, along with some that have been as little as a few months. This is what I have learned, God keeps those in your life that he desires and removes those that he knows are to no longer be there. This was a hard lesson for me to learn, but with some experiences I have had in recent weeks and months and even years, I now understand how Our Heavenly Father works all things to our good, if we love him and are called according to his purpose. Because of my love for him, I understand his plan like I never have before. That is the plan I am choosing to move forward with. “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him,  and who have been called according to his purpose.” Romans 8:28 Thus, my past friendships and present are all working to my good.

I have also come to realize that God will show you who to trust and who you are not to trust. To be honest, in the season I am now in, I trust very few and that’s okay, each of us have to do what is best and works to God’s good and ours too.

Do I have a lot of friends, yes I do, but more of a social nature.  Even Jesus had only a few trusted friends, his disciples and even one of those betrayed him.

Let me share with you an instance of my most trusted friends, most of them are what I call over the miles friends, ones that don’t even live in my area, but we are very connected, many of us in different ways. Yet even as the years have passed we know we can always count on each other. I am sure you have those kinds of friends too.

My newest friend, God divinely put in my path, it all started with a request to pray for the ministry she and a friend share. That connection of prayer, led to much more. Since we didn’t live in the same city, actually from one end of the state to the other, we met just recently in person. How exciting that was. We even text almost daily and have phone conversations as it works, along with email and facebook too. Divine connections are amazing, totally unexpected too.

Even my daughter in loves, as I call them, have become my friends, that is very special to me. I will always be there for them and I am sure they will be there for me too.

I don’t know your friendship journey, but God does and I am sure it is a very special one, just like mine.

I’d like to close with two scriptures that are near and dear to my heart in how it relates to me and my friends.

“As iron sharpens iron, so a friend sharpens a friend.” Proverbs 27:17

“Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their labor: If either of them falls down, one can help the other up.” Ecclesiates 4:9-10

So with all this said I am sure, you, just as I do, have some of the following friends in your life a BFF, a GFF and an FF.

I am forever grateful for each and every one, give thanks too.

Feel free to comment or share about your friendship journey, if you would like too.

Be blessed!

~Anita

Responses

  1. This was exactly what I needed to hear. Thanks for your continued service to Jesus.

    • Delighted it spoke to your heart, I love serving Jesus! Bless you in your friendship journey and in your journey with Jesus too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

