Posted by: Anita Montgomery | February 1, 2014

The Love Challenge

Wow, its February the 1st!

As I woke up early this a.m. I felt God was giving me a challenge for the month of February, here it is. What is one thing I can do each day to show someone else I love them and God does too.

During my quiet time I realized just how simple it might be, here are some ideas, at least ones I plan to do.

1. Send some cards, I still love snail mail, isn’t it fun to open your mailbox and find a smile!

2. Pick up the phone and call someone you haven’t talked to in a while. Now for me that will be a challenge for sure. I am not a phone person, lol!

3. Do some random acts of kindness. Just yesterday I hung a bag of goodies on a neighbor’s door, then texted her to tell her to open her door, I was a bit concerned if I didn’t send that text someone else just might help themselves.

4. Tip a little extra for to show your server you really care.

5. Compliment someone helping you in a store, go that extra mile.

6. Help someone who may have too many bags open their car door, or carry their packages for them.

7. Hold the door open for someone before you go in, how easy is that.

8. Make or buy a small gift and pass it to a friend, just to say I love you!

9. Reach out to someone who might seem lonely or sad, I have been doing that at the gym, it is amazing what is happening as I connect with a lonely gal in her 30’s.

10. Maybe you are out for dinner and there is a family there with well-behaved children, compliment them all. We loved it when others did that as our children grew up.

11. If you like to cook, make a little extra, or even bake something. We were blessed when a friend sent some cookies home with us last night. Share something that you have plenty of with someone.

12. Just a silent smile or thank you may be just what another person needs to know they are loved.

13. Often when I check out of a store, I will say to the clerk, if no one has thanked you yet today I just want you to know you are appreciated for what you do. It is unbelievable the responses I get to that simple comment.

Now you have a “bakers dozen” of simple little ways we can show someone a bit of love each day this month.

You know what, we will be the ones that get the blessings as we do.

Ready, set, let’s go!

Til’ next time …
~Anita Montgomery

“Three things will last forever–faith, hope, and love–and the greatest of these is love.” 1 Corinthians 13:13

Leave a Reply

Categories

